Limitations Suck

So if you’re going to use the free version of WordPress to create your website, you’re going to have to put up with some limitations. WordPress is amazing and having the ability to create a completely free, professional-looking website is truly spectacular, but if you’re going to go this route (the free route), you should understand what you can and can’t do.

No Custom CSS

This is one of the most annoying things for me. I simply can’t change some things that are really easy to change on a full-featured website.

Say I want to change the color of my titles from white to a dark color. I can’t do it. I can only change the color of a few certain things on the site to a few pre-set options. Then I’m limited as to what my background images can be. I can’t use a bright image with white text on top of it!

The inability to change colors as needed is a real limitation and should be carefully considered.

Keep in mind that you also cannot change widths, heights, etc. Having the ability to edit your site’s CSS allows you to really change things up when needed.

Ads Will Appear on Your Site

Now and again you’ll see an ad on your free WordPress.com website. Some folks don’t mind it, but I have a hard time with it. But again, for free, what do you expect?

In general, the ads that do appear are not overt and you don’t see them that often. So that’s a good thing. Overall, the ad situation isn’t terrible, but it’s still a pretty significant limitation.

Limited Support Options

You can post your question in the public forums if you have problems. Usually you’ll get an answer and that’s a good thing, but often you have to wait. I had a small issue I couldn’t figure out with this site and I waited two days for an answer.

If you upgrade to a premium plan, you’ll get better support (live chat and email during the day). But if you really want good support, you’ll get your own web host and just use the WordPress software. If you have any questions about this, contact me.

Limited Storage

You get 3GB of space with the free version. That’s actually quite a lot of space and a decent offering.

Summary

Having described the limitations of a free WordPress.com website, I still assert that it’s a great idea to create one!

It teaches you to use WordPress, which you can still use if you decide you want to use your own web host in the future. Understanding how to use WordPress is a legitimate skill in our current tech-driven environment.

You can achieve amazing results, as you can see. This very website is a completely free WordPress.com website. And I love it. I just had to deal with the limitation and work around them.

Leave a Reply

